HARCOURT (originally known as Mumford Station)
THE GEOCACHING CAPITAL OF CANADA
North east of Wilberforce, on Loop Road, the hamlet of Harcourt was once a flagstop on the IB & O Railway, called Mumford Station. Established in 1903 by the founding of the post office, the community grew mostly from the lumber industry. Until the 1980s, it was home to the primary mill and headquarters of G.W. Martin Lumber.
At the time of Grenville Martin’s untimely death in 1984, when his private plane crashed near Toronto’s Island airport, the company was one of the largest operations in North America. Since his passing, the headquarters have been repurposed as a resort.
There are many recreational opportunities in the Harcourt area, rock collecting, hiking trails, horseback riding, excellent fishing in Elephant & Benoir Lakes and much more. Harcourt is just minutes from the south entrance of Algonquin Park.
Harcourt Park Inc.
A non-profit cottage corporation composed of 6,900 acres, 18 lakes and 600 surveyed properties that are individually leased. The community was designed to provide a unique, unspoiled cottage experience. Established in 1959, lots were originally made available only to members of the Toronto School Board.
Peterson Road email@example.com
An award-winning, off-grid wilderness lodge on the shore of a private lake with cascading waterfall. 905-471-9453
Private & Group Energy Sessions, Meditating & Healing Circles, Ceremonies & Celebrations, Workshops, Retreats & Events, Sacred Tours.