Originally called Tara, the place became known as Doyle’s Corners, in 1861, after postmaster Michael Doyle was appointed. In 1863 the name became Oxenden, but was again changed, the same year, to Maynooth (after a place in County Kildare, Ireland).
A charming town, with galleries, antiques, upcycle, cafes, art and artisans. The local Arlington hostel is an international hostel and host of music and events. Each year, on the Labour Day weekend, Maynooth hosts its “Maynooth Madness” Festival.
Maynooth has a fabulous Farmers’ Market… open every Saturday 8 am – 1 pm, May through October, at the Old Community Centre on Hwy 62 & Yonge Street. A wide range of offerings include: local produce, plants & flowers, maple syrup, homemade breads, infused herb & berry vinegars, other preserves, meats, baked goods, jewelry, clothing, crafts and more. Reasonable rates for vendor booth rental. Street parking is available. There’s an indoor winter market too. For further information, contact Chris Hass 613-338-5303 or firstname.lastname@example.org
History of #32 Maynooth Station Road
The house was sold to Mr. & Mrs. Geo. Ivany. For a while, Mrs. Ivany ran a fabric/drapery store out of the house. It was briefly operated as a charity shop and then their residence. It was acquired for a while by Pat St. Louis who was instrumental in starting the Save the Maynooth Station Action group, before being sold to the current owners.
The train station, was adjacent to the hotel/boarding house.
Maynooth Station was built in 1907 by the Central Ontario Railway and later acquired by CN Rail.
It is now empty and falling into decay.